Self-Discovery Art Journal Project

I’ve always kept a journal.   I would say the earliest ones I still have are from elementary school.  What was going in my life in those early moments that I needed to work out through keeping a diary?  Well, plenty, of course! There were the boys, who got on my nerves that week, what I thought mom did to ruin my life, cute boys, escapades with friends, dreams I had, my latest music group obsession, and did I mention BOYS?

I periodically wrote through middle school, high school, and some college years, but I had to stop for a while because I found that I only used it to vent all of my angry moments.  I didn’t want remember just the angry parts of my life.

In recent years I’ve returned to the journal, changing its format a few times to more of a daily log.  And as you see, if you’re reading this, I’ve reached out to embrace “the virtual journal” to document my creative goings on.   I guess journaling will always be a part of my life in some format.

image

 

This time I am embracing my interpretation of the art journal.   There are some amazing examples out there.  I can’t guarantee that my journal will be as beautiful and art filled, but I

It will be serious, silly, embellished, written in, quoted up, doodled on, colored, painted, etc. The plan is to make some use of the 92 bazillion unused scrap-booking paper and materials I have from a craft long abandoned.  I have no plan, no format, no layout, no rules to follow, no set topics…just self-discovery and creativity one topic at a time, one moment at a time

 

image

 

All of my random thoughts, favorite quotes, creative writings, photos, likes, dislikes, dreams, and things that I learn about myself through this project will be condensed to several 8 and 1/2 x 11 sheets of colored paper.

– Nizzy

Self-Discovery Art Journal Project