Make New, Again

During my Christmas holiday break, a friend gifted me a pair of earrings gifted to her. It didn’t quite count as a re-gift as she just handed them to me. They weren’t really her thing; she doesn’t do dangles, or purple, or green. I thought there were kind of cute, kind of funky, kind of odd, kind of wild, kind of not really my thing either, but I would still wear them. Better yet, I could make something better with these items!

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of the before, but I turned it into a necklace.  I could have kept it, but I gave it back. Hopefully, it’s more her thing now.

image

An idea is born!

Next, my mother gave me a huge bag of costume jewelry that she found in the house. Some of it was hers, some of it belonged to my grandmother, and some of it she had no idea where it came from. We hung out, sipped some tea, and chatted about old memories surrounding some of the pieces.  I left with a bag full of ideas on turning the jewelry into something new. Some things I thought were oddly fabulous as they were and planned to leave those as they are.

Right now, it all looks like junk and clutter sitting on top of my yarn/bookcase, but I have plans to use as much of each item as I can, combine it with beads and findings that I already own (or will purchase) to make a completely new look. Ooo, a challenge!

I immediately dove in to this bag to work on my first necklace, inspired by these gold balls that have been in my stash forever.  Here it is in progress.

image

Those “pearls” are connected together and are not my favorite piece to work with, but here’s to the task of trying to turn it into something that looks a little more desirable (at least to me or in great lighting)!

Although, I’m not so sure what to do with this!

image

– Nizzy

Make New, Again