Patternmaking Success

To finally get out of my ‘store bought pattern’ comfort zone I took a pattern-making class.  After lots of fittings, lots of muslin samples, and lots of dart manipulations I had only the final week of class to sew up my project.

image

The jacket was originally a shirt before I made the fabric selection of denim.  I had to change my design when I realized there was no way to get in it.  I transferred the bust and waist darts  to the neck line and stitched  them down for detail. The petal sleeve was also drafted.

image

The skirt was inspired by my Fashion Studies Foundation class mood board and illustration of origami and a four gored skirt with a back inset detail.

image

image

There were a couple of inside finishing details that I slipped up on, but I think I did an okay job for a first time pattern-maker.  Now, on to draping class!

Patternmaking Success

5 thoughts on “Patternmaking Success

  1. Sandra says:

    Great job, very well done. Did you take the class in PA? I need to take a class or two. Have been doing Craftsy classes but would like to meet others. One of my goals for 2014 is to sew more and get out of my sewing rut.

Comments are closed.