Slow(est) Work

I think there comes a time in a person’s life where they begin to question their reason for doing something, e.g. a career, following a movement, purpose of life.   Sewing and I have had this relationship for a long time.   I know where I want to go with it, but trying to work out the time for it all is a challenge.  It’s slow work!  For me, it’s a frustratingly long process for every stage in the project: the deciding, the cutting, the fitting, the washing and ironing, and the actual construction.  I regularly visit other sewing blogs and it seems they are cranking out these projects like a factory.  I just want to get something done and I want it done NOW.  Yes, friends, I am a product of my generation! 

Instant gratification.

I want it now.

Entitlement.

I need it now. 

I gotta have it. 

Umm, why is this taking so long? 

This isn’t done already? 

*Groan* 

*sigh*

*whine*

*pout*

Drive-thru sewing. 

Well, I had to (have to) take a step back from that, ignore the blogs, re-learn, and constantly remind myself that in my world sewing (and everything else in life) takes time.  I also have responsibilities and other interests that bring me pleasure, Really, what’s my hurry anyway?  It’s not a competition. 

Despite the slow work of sewing, I managed to finish a couple of projects: a skirt (will be posted later) and two craft baskets to organize my out of control pattern collection.  I’m working on a third that you can see in the background.

 

image

Colorful fabric from the stash is put to use in Kwik Sew #107.   I’ll be making them until each of those patterns has a basket home.

image

 

Of course, I could buy boxes or baskets and it would certainly speed up the organization process, but what would be the fun in that? 

-Nizzy

Slow(est) Work

6 thoughts on “Slow(est) Work

      1. Lol I can totally relate. I was on strike from buying new patterns for same reason. Recently purchased 5 that are sitting on my desk waiting for my imaginary helpers.

  1. Nizzy, such a great point about wanting instant gratification in our crafting (and comparing ourselves to others). Crafting is as much about the process as the final product. You might as well enjoy what you’re doing. BTW, awesome pattern stash! I’m going to check out KwikSew 107 to help corral my stash.

    1. Thanks, Aimee. Hobbies are for our pure pleasure. It’s work, but work we love to do, right? Comparisons aren’t good unless they are motivating you in a positive way to do more/better. I love visiting other blogs to see all the creative things people are doing, but I need to be mindful that my process is my process and I don’t necessairly need to keep up with what is going on in the world of crafting.

Comments are closed.