What’s My Grade?

September seemed to pass by so quickly however, I managed to squeeze in several simple pairs of earrings.  I’ve tried to stay true to my personal challenge in that no new materials would be used (except notions and findings like thread, jump rings, etc.) and all but one pair of these follow the rule of using what I have in the stash instead of stockpiling beads and fabric like I’m waiting for a Craftpocolypse to begin. 

image

Wait…A Craftpocolypse?   I like the sound of that!

image

image

image

image

September also was the month I finished the Fashion Studies class.   The instructor was super knowledgable and has further sparked my interest in keeping up with the goings on of the fashion industry.  I’ve learned names of designers (and I never keep up names!), turned my nose up at some fast fashion news stories, learned to appreciate the work that goes into clothing and textile manufacturing, and ogled more 2014 runway shows than ever before.   That last night, my classmates and I brought in and discussed our final projects (mood board (below), illustration (below), technical drawings and swatches), received a gentle critique of or work, and went on our way!  There are only two regrets I have about taking the class:

1. Taking the class for audit.  You haven’t a clue of how well (or how bad) you’ve done.  Although I’m pretty sure compared to others in that industry I would have a lot more to “show and prove”.  On the other hand, learning is ‘spensive!

2. Not trying to “design” a little more.  I froze at the thought of drawing collars, draping, layering, texture, dimension, etc.  I wanted to avoid a complete illustration disaster so I kept it simple enough for my limited drawing skills.

image

I was inspired by mathematics, optial illusions, geometry and crisp folds.

image

Friends are asking me if I have any plans to make these clothes.  I’ve entertained the idea, but don’t think I will.  At least not yet.  Let’s see what happens in the next class: Patternmaking and Construction.  Maybe these ideas above are simple enough for me practice what I learn.

-Nizzy

What’s My Grade?

2 thoughts on “What’s My Grade?

  1. You are on fyah Nizzy!!!! I love your illustration and mood board. I wish I had the skill to put that stuff together but I can’t draw to save my life. LOLOL!

    I think you did an amazing job in this class and I can’t wait to see what you come up with for the next.

    P.S. Do you sell your jewelry?

    1. Thanks! Hey, I was saying “I can’t draw” the whole time as well, lol. All of my other doodles did not come out this decent as this. I held my breath through that piece!

      As far as selling jewelry goes, I’m certainly open to the idea, but have not yet made any sales. I’m trying to work out just how I want to go about things in terms of making multiples of something or keeping it one of a kind. I believe I have an etsy shop started…just need to work up the nerve to put something in it. -Nizzy

Comments are closed.