Getting Back into the Crafting Groove

I feel like I haven’t been in the blog world in such a long time! I had a week without any crafting because I was living it up on my very first cruise!

image

Lots of eating, sleeping, relaxing, occasional drinking, games, and fun, fun, fun! Even still I missed my sewing machine just a bit. I had big plans to sew up a little dress for an upcoming wedding, but the time just got away from me. So, nothing finished to see here!

image

I did start my next knitting project on the ship, but only managed to complete half of what you see above. Those late afternoon naps got in the way of my knitting.  Winter is coming and I’m ready to get into the grove of making hats, scarves, and the first sweater for my husband.  Little does he know, he will be subject to being measured and fit on a regular basis. 

In other randomness…the world of fashion is abuzz with September issues, New York Fashion Week, and other fabulousness and here is what caught my eye in the latest Vogue:

image

Knitting in a Chanel ad? See, knitting is COOL and FASHIONABLE!

September Vogue also brought to my attention the Fall 2013 Christian Wijnants collection.  This is a must have:

 

Photo: Alessandro Viero / InDigital | GoRunway from Style.com
Photo: Alessandro Viero / InDigital | GoRunway from Style.com

 

It’s hard to see in a photo of this size, but the tension is varied on this knit dress.  And beginner knitters think varying tension is a mistake!

Also, there were so many great NYFW collections (DVF, Zac Posen) it just makes me want to pick up a pen and sketch out a few things and then I remember I cannot draw!  Anyway, as much as I had a great time getting away, its good to get back to the hobbies I love so much.

-Nizzy

Getting Back into the Crafting Groove