Me? Quilting?

In an earlier post I mentioned my visit to a Babylock sewing club.     Three quarters of the way through the class there was “Show and Tell” segment where everyone in the room got a chance to show off something that they made.  One woman showed a bunch of quilt blocks she put together from the free Craftsy 2012 Block of the Month class.  The fabrics, the colors, and the stitching were beautiful and it inspired me to give it a try.  I’ve never quilted before and don’t have the interest now to call myself a quilter, but I’m going to have fun making the blocks!  I may not even bind it after all the blocks are done.

image

The first two blocks employed the slash and sew technique:  sew in a strip between two pieces, slash through your square, and sew in another strip between the two new pieces.  Very easy.  Except when things don’t line up.  I had to redo the seams on the Wonky Pound Sign block because my strips didn’t line up.  The very first block I did (Asterisk) isn’t centered and I’m fighting the urge to completely redo the thing.

image

I falling in love all over again with my rotary cutter!

-Nizzy

Me? Quilting?

6 thoughts on “Me? Quilting?

  1. Nizzy, Nizzy … how awesome are thine crafting skills?!!!! In the words of my god-daughter … beyond infinity!!!! 😀

    Those blocks are beautiful and soooooooooooooooo neat!!!

  2. Darlington Delights says:

    I loved the 2012 Craftsy BOM….I finished up the quilt, have it basted and partially quilted…I need to get that finished up soon. Your blocks are lovely. I look forward to seeing how they come out.

Comments are closed.