Sewing Community

Source: http://babylock.com

I upgraded my Kenmore to a Babylock Elizabeth!  Now, I can easily put the buttonholes on that unfinished shirt that’s sitting in my closet.  I don’t want to deal with that buttonhole contraption on my old machine any longer if it’s not an emergency.

The store I purchased it from gives you a free one-year membership to a sewing club so you can work on planned projects with others who have your machine or similar.   This month’s project was a chicken shaped bun warmer and  a bowl cover.

Source: kwiksew.mccalls.com, Kwik Sew 1135
Source: kwiksew.mccalls.com, Kwik Sew 0104

I thought the bun warmer was cute, but my only option was to make the bowl cover since I didn’t buy the other pattern in advance.

image

I got to work with iron on vinyl, which I had no idea that such a thing exists.  It’s a very simple project, not very challenging, but the real fun for me was getting to work on my craft with others.    It made me want to be a part of a sewing community even more.

I’m pretty much a solo crafter.   Only few of my friends craft on limited occasions.    I visit and comment on other sewing blogs, forums, etc.,  but I’m not sure I am keeping up with that enough to say I’m officially a part of the online sewing community.   I am just in the early stages of getting together my sewing-related content so I’ve missed out on some meet and greets.   Once my club membership runs out I think it’s time to push the boundaries and branch out to a few local meetups /groups to meet more new folks who share the love for sewing.

What do you do to connect to the sewing/craft community?

-Nizzy

Sewing Community