CM has been nominated for the Liebster Award!

Threadtheory has nominated this blog for the Liebster Award.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!  I graciously accept.

I truly appreciate all of you who take the time out to visit my little corner of the web whether it’s to browse, comment, encourage, or offer input.  As part of acceptance there are some great questions I have to answer, so here goes!

1. If you could choose anything (absolutely anything!) as a career, what would it be?

I think I would choose photographer as a career.  Not because I am completely competent and confident behind the camera, but because I really enjoy the process of trying to ‘see’ and capture the moment.  I’ve done a few photography shoots (maternity and couples) and although they were a little nerve wrecking I had so much fun at the same time.

2. What garment would you most like to add to your wardrobe?

More pants.  And in particular I want so badly a pair of those black and white two toned pants that are now popular.

3.  Where do you like to shop for fabric?

Everywhere!  Online, Joann’s, local fabric stores…I’m a fabric junkie.  If you saw the stash you would know.  And I’m so plotting a Mood visit one of these days.

4. What movie most inspires you to sew?

I had to think about this.  I remember being in love with the costuming in Gladiator, but I can’t think of anything more recent than that.

5. What are three key things that you would add to your dream sewing studio?

A counter height cutting tablefabric storage closet, and one of those fancy extra padded dressform that’s exactly my size.

6. Are you a PDF or a paper pattern person?  Why do you prefer one over the other?

Paper pattern.  I’ve never printed a pdf pattern before.  It sounds like I would have to tape too many pieces of paper together.  Not fun.

7.  Other than sewing, what most preoccupies your time?

Other than sewing (or my other crafty hobbies), COOKING.  I like it most of the time and I’m trying to cut down on dining out.

8. What type of garment interests you the most as a sewing project: Something that highlights an unusual fabric or something with a basic fabric and unusual details?

I love unusual details: ruffles, gathers, pleats, godets, odd draping, etc.  I love fabric manipulation.  I hope to incorporate more of that in my projects.

9. Do you have sewing buddies?  If so, who/what are they (friends – in person/online, pets, family)?

My best friend’s sister went to school for fashion merchandising and she loves to create her own designs.  Every now and again we get together and pull a late night sewing session.  I am still looking to meet up with others who enjoy sewing/fabric shopping as much as I do.

10.  Do you have sewers in your family history?  What type of projects did they mostly sew?

My grandmother and great-grandmother had sewing machines, but I never saw them sew anything.

11. If you could pick any new subject to spend a year learning, what would it be?

First thought: Japanese!  I’d really like to speak another language fluently.  For a while I was self-teaching Spanish, but I didn’t keep up with it regularly.

The questions were a lot of fun to answer!

I hate to stop the chain, but I don’t have any sewing blogs with few followers to nominate for this award.  The last few blogs that I started to follow have tons of followers and have been around for a while.  However, everyone loves a little blog traffic anyway so I will leave you with my most recent finds:

You Sew Girl

Sew My Time

Dresses and Me

Enjoy!

-Nizzy

CM has been nominated for the Liebster Award!

2 thoughts on “CM has been nominated for the Liebster Award!

Comments are closed.