Sewing with a Plan: Pattern Selection

For some time I’ve been kind of disappointed with my wardrobe.  I feel like most of the things I own fall into one or more of the categories: too old, doesn’t fit, don’t like it anymore, too blah.  I want some change, but sometimes shopping is a nightmare and I also can’t seem make clothes fast enough for my satisfaction.  So instead of incessantly whining about it, I’m going to take my time to purchase what I need, sew the rest, and just make it all work over time starting with one of my crafty goals.

At the start of the year I came up with a reasonably short list of few crafty things I definitely wanted to finally attempt in 2013.  One such goal is to participate in a SWAP.   Not the kind of swap where you get a few people together to trade yarn, clothes, patterns, or other things, but SWAP as in Sewing With a Plan.  If you don’t know about it already, here is a link to the  Original SWAP Article.  Basically, it originally began as a contest where you create a starter wardrobe of 11 different coordinating pieces using fabrics of two colors and one print.  I’m going to make it a little easier for myself and pick a pattern that has a bit of everything already in the package.

Choice 1: Vogue 8866

V8866
Vogue 8866
Image source: www.voguepatterns.mccall.com

It’s all about that jacket peplum!  I love it, but I can totally see it giving me a headache.  The rest of the pieces are pretty basic and look easy to sew together.

V8866-2
Image source http://www.voguepatterns.mccall.com

Choice 2: Vogue 2975

2975
Image source: Pattern Review Website

With this one there will be a little bit of fussing with the pleats, but at least I will only have to do it once to account for the top and the dress.  I’ve never made a suit jacket before so either way it will be a new experience.

2975line
Image Source: Pattern Review Website

I can’t decide which one I want to start with!   Suits aren’t required for work, but that makes me no nevermind.  Ideally for option 1 I would like to have everything sewn by the fall so that I can go into the season with something new, but I have to fit it in with the other sewing projects I  have already planned/on the wish list. With option 2 I could enjoy some of the pieces throughout the spring and summer as I sew.  Decisions, decisions!

-Nizzy

Sewing with a Plan: Pattern Selection

3 thoughts on “Sewing with a Plan: Pattern Selection

  1. I love the first pattern, but if suits are not required for your job, I’d go with the second pattern. The pieces are professional without being too suit-y.

    Lovely pattern choices.

Comments are closed.