Welt Pockets are Stressful!

image

For the past few hours days, I’ve tried to perfect the welt pocket.  What a stressful experience!  Why am I messing around with welt pockets?  Because I’m in desperate need of pants.  Over the past year I’ve lost a couple of pounds and now my pants no longer fit properly.  I’ve been to several stores trying on pants and I can’t seem to find a pair that fit like I want them.

Bright idea: Just make your own!

Here I am, back in the sewing saddle and because I like to challenge myself I picked a pattern (Vogue 2907-View A) that has welt pockets.  Now, I’ve worked on welts once before and was incredibly unsuccessful.  My results above are less than perfect, but I’ll be damned if I take it out to reconstruct.

I’m worn out !  And I only did one!   Would it look weird if I only had one pocket in the back?   *sigh*

Somebody, please, send some magic fitting vibes my way to make sure that these pants fit.  I worked hard on that pocket!

-Nizzy

Welt Pockets are Stressful!

4 thoughts on “Welt Pockets are Stressful!

  1. I did these in my sewing class ages ago and the pants sample is still unfinished. Granted it’s a mini version but after those pockets, I didn’t have the energy to do anything else. I’ll check my notes and see if I find helpful tips.

  2. Sending good vibes from New Jersey!!!

    I’m working on a Colette Anise jacket and will be fighting with welt pockets within the next few sewing sessions. So I pre-feel your pain.

    Best of luck!!!

Comments are closed.