Yarny Travels

A friend and I took a little day trip and escaped to New York City.  Of course I couldn’t resist a visit to either a bead, yarn, or fabric shop.  I always look for one wherever my travels take me. 

As much as I really wanted to make my way down to Mood, the timing just wasn’t right.  I didn’t have the hours it would take me to peruse all the fabrics, spending up all my money, and I wouldn’t have to refrain from the corny urge to yell “Thanks, Mood” on my way out the door.

Instead we headed up to the Upper West Side for a visit to The Yarn Company in exchange for shopping at Mood (and Purl Soho).  I wasn’t familiar with the store at all, but any yarn shop is worth a look.  There were lots of high-end and luxury fibers.  I fell in love with a beaded and sequined silk that, thankfully, was not in the store.  I wistfully gave the cashmere a squeeze and thought about my yarn wish list.  One day…just not today.

image

I couldn’t leave the store empty-handed so I left with one ball of Filatur Di Crosa Fancy Cristallo, which I have an idea for, and one skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepard Sock in the Buildings and Sky color way that will one day be turned into those lovely fingerless mitts pictured.

-Nizzy

Yarny Travels

3 thoughts on “Yarny Travels

  1. Oye …. next time you’re coming, give a lady a heads up huh! 😀

    Glad you had a wonderful time in the city. If you ever want to take a run up here solo, send me a pm on Rav. 🙂

Comments are closed.