Lazy Woman’s Guide to Color Blocking

image

My understanding of the definition of color blocking is there are chunks (or blocks) of color sewn or pieced together in one garment.  It appears that the color blocking trend has taken on new meaning.  When doing a search, I find a look that could be best described as “color clashing” rather than blocking, where each garment is a different, bright color.  While I like that look, that’s not where I was going with this project.

I don’t usually do trends or a particular style however, New Look 6087 looked like it would have been a great subtle (i.e. lazy) intro to the color blocking trend.

The pattern envelope detail of the top is actually two separate shirts worn together, an idea that didn’t fully dawn on me until I was actually cutting it out.   Since I was too lazy to do a simple redesign, too motivated to actually sew something, and not wanting to give up altogether, I just ran with it as it was.   I needed the sewing practice and I didn’t want to toss out all of that wonderful fabric: Interlock.  There seriously is no substitute for nice, drapey jersey.

image

The side ruching helps minimize the distorted, puckered hem that always seems to occur when sewing this fabric.  All seams were neatly finished with a zig zag stitch which works better than a straight, machine hem.  I think I’ll at least go back and attach the two shirts at the right under arm edge so that the two shirts can stay even in the front.  It’s done and I’m moving on with a little less Interlock fabric in the stash.  YAY!

-Nizzy

Lazy Woman’s Guide to Color Blocking

2 thoughts on “Lazy Woman’s Guide to Color Blocking

Comments are closed.