Christmas in July

(30 Days of Crafting – Reduce/Reuse Recycle)

I purchased this cute little tree at a big name store some years ago.  The silver color had turned black in some areas and it just didn’t look as cute as it once was.   Yet, I was still in love with it and was reluctant to get rid of it.   What a perfect opportunity to practice reducing/reusing/recycling and transform it into something new again.

Though my favorite holiday is not Christmas (I’m a Thanksgiving fan), I do have a soft spot for Christmas decorations.  Every year I put up a small tree and have fun experimenting with different color schemes.  The typical red and gold is nice, but I like to mix things up because I just adore COLOR!  I took this old silver tree with  clear/white and blue beads updated it with a fresh gold paint coating.  The discolored snowflakes were also spray painted gold and topped with a pink glitter.  Then to finish, I added sea-blue beads and AB colored snowflakes.

Viola!  And its cute again!

– Nizzy

Christmas in July

3 thoughts on “Christmas in July

  1. I should have you send that to me — Christmas is my absolute favourite time of the year!! It’s really beautiful, you’ve done a fantastic re-purpose, recycle, reuse job!!!

Comments are closed.