Twist Top – Simplicity 4076

image
Simplicity 4076

Pattern Description:

Simplicity 4076

Several years ago this was THE pattern to make.  These twist tops were all over the sewing blog/sewing pattern review world.  Every pattern company had their version of it.  I believe I own two versions of the same top myself!

Since I didn’t jump on the bandwagon then, but still liked the top years later I decided to give it a go.  The pattern is pretty easy, but I’m not particularly pleased with the results.  I think it’s the fabric choice: cheap interlock.   The fit isn’t so great either, but what better fabric to practice on than cheap interlock.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
As with any pattern, there are a ton of adjustments that I have to make: Sleeve length and width, adjustment for shoulders and waist, and I turned that bell sleeve into a straight sleeve.  One thing that I didn’t do, but really needed was the FBA.  I wasn’t sure where that adjustment was needed given the shirt’s construction.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I’d like to make it again using jersey or some other more stretchy knit.  Interlock just doesn’t have that much give and when it does give it stretches out of shape.    Just about everything is out of whack on this top, but despite its problems I’m still going to wear the damned thing.

– Nizzy

Twist Top – Simplicity 4076