Studio Redo (part 1)

We had some cold, wet weather this weekend and it forced me to stay inside (if you knew me, you’d realize that’s an incredibly funny statement…)

For some reason, I decided it would be the perfect time to rearrange and reorganize my studio!  You can see previous versions of this FUN (ha!) HERE.

(side note:  I blew out my back a few weeks ago and still have trouble moving, sitting, standing at times.  I am a *complete* idiot).

I started by tricking and then locking all the cats into the basement.  That way, I could leave the studio door open and not trip over the cats as I emptied 90% of the room to the living room (again!).

After the little stuff was out, I unscrewed the countertops from one another and removed them.  Then moved the EXPEDIT bookcases to make a base for a large island in the middle of the room.  Once that was in place, I brought the old vanity (that I’ve been using as a desk for like 100 years now) into the back right corner.  Moved my sewing machine from the entrance wall to the opposide end of the computer wall).  Put the countertop back onto the new island and then smartly snapped a pic (before everything could get all messed up again).  😉

Studio before organization started

Since that pic, I have moved the white drawer unit (under the left window) to the left of the sewing machine (that’s the “desk”-like piece the TV is on).  The little white drawer units (FIRA from IKEA; discontinued) to the remaining EXPEDIT on the left (you can barely see it to the left of the island).  Printer has been moved to the right of the desk (back corner, between the windows).

 
I then proceeded to bring everything back into the Studio that *should* live there.  It’s not all organized, but the plan is to organize, one box at a time, until it’s all done.  The cubbies on the side of the island toward the computer and sewing machine will hold office supplies and some files.  The side facing the Studio door (that you can see) will hold scrapbooking/craft supplies.  The other EXPEDIT cubbies will hold tools and other crafting supplies.  There is a closet that will hold over-flow (hopefully neatly!)
 
And there you have it, how I spent my snowy Saturday.  (seriously, I spent 12 HOURS on this room that day).  And miraculously, I didn’t hurt myself.
 
~DW
Studio Redo (part 1)

2 thoughts on “Studio Redo (part 1)

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, I know what it’s like once you start a makeover project, time flies, and next thing you know, you have worked 12 hours 🙂

Comments are closed.