Knitting Needle Organization

The Before: 

All of my knitting needles were organized (and I use that word loosely) in a box top that fit perfectly in one of the cubbies of my Ikea Expedit Bookcase.  They were all in one place, which was good, but I had to sort through a bunch of individual packages to find the needle I wanted, which was bad.  I needed a better system mainly because I wanted it to look a little nicer and free up some of that space in the bookshelf.

So I got the great idea that I wanted to store my needles in a binder.  I went searching for something I could buy and I came across this cool product called the Namaste Knitting Binder Case and I got excited!  Unfortunately, I found out that the case and the binder pages were discontinued.  And I guess that is a good thing because I really do NOT need another bag, much less a knitting bag, at this time.

SO, thus began the process of creating my own binder for needle storage.  It works for me for right now and I hope it works for me forever more because I’d like to spend less time sorting, organizing, and buying products and MORE time on the fun stuff! 

Last thing to do for this project is to create some sort of storage page for the shorter knitting needles possibly out of fabric scraps I own.

Hope you enjoy!

-Nizzy

The After:

image
3" Binder
image
Insert to hold sock needles, S hook, and a few notions
image
Circular needles in plastic photo sleeves

image

image
Binder page opened
image
More hooks and Knitpicks Needle Tips
image
Velcro attatched Knitpicks Cables
Knitting Needle Organization

2 thoughts on “Knitting Needle Organization

Comments are closed.